Alumni Award Winners

The CAA 2023 alumni award and special recognition recipients 

Alumni award winners

A brilliant researcher, a friendly lawyer and an engaging young volunteer highlight our 2023 award winners. They will be honored at Homecoming in October.

Professor Dustin Tyler, PhD ’99, has brought new hope to people with artificial limbs while bringing acclaim to the Case School of Engineering.


Tyler’s work with advanced prosthetics promises to restore a sense of touch among people who have lost limbs or suffered paralysis. His lab has been featured on the CBS news show 60 Minutes and in the pages of National Geographic Magazine. Meanwhile, he’s the university’s choice to lead its new Human Fusions Institute, which seeks to combine CWRU expertise in engineering and medicine.


For representing the best of Case, Tyler will receive the Gold Medal—the highest award bestowed annually by the Case Alumni Association—at Homecoming and Reunion Weekend Oct. 12-15.


He was chosen by a panel of CAA past presidents who met in March to make selections. Tyler, who earned his doctorate in biomedical engineering from the Case School of Engineering, leads a distinguished class of award winners.


Samuel Givelber ’23 Award

Michael Diamant ’68 will receive the award that honors an alumnus who fosters fellowship and kindness in the tradition of Samuel Givelber, who graduated 100 years ago. A lawyer, arbitrator and mediator, Diamant has volunteered for Case and the CAA for a consecutive 45 years, enhancing countless gatherings and reunions with his memory, sincerity and bonhomie.


Young Alumni Leadership Award  

Chioma Onukwuire ’17, MEM ’18, was a member of an alumni panel at Homecoming, a contestant in the Engineering Game during Engineers Week, and an ambassador to students considering CWRU. The technical product manager for Cardinal Commerce often drives in from Detroit to volunteer at her alma mater, where her youthful leadership is impactful and inspiring.


In addition, three people will receive a Thomas P. Kicher ’59, MS ’62, PhD ’65 Meritorious Service Award, which recognizes outstanding service to the CAA and to Case. They are:


Kirsten Bowen ’96, a civil engineer and vice president for Michael Baker International and a mentor and role model to Case students.


Gordon Daily ’00, MSE ’01, the founder and CEO of Boxcast, a former two-time member of the board of the CAA and a volunteer.


Bill Emling ’79, the retired vice president of SMS Group, a former CAA board member and a volunteer.


Immediate Past President
Joe Fault ’90 will be recognized for leading the Case Alumni Association as president the past two years.


Special Recognition
Tom Conlon, the retiring CFO of the CAA, will be recognized for 21 years of distinguished service to Case and the Alumni Association.


The awards program begins at 6 p.m. Friday, October 13, in Strosacker Auditorium. It will be preceded by a Dean’s Reception in the lobby of Nord Hall. Information is available and registration is open on our homecoming page.


read more about our 2023 award winners