Award winners announced

The 2022 Homecoming award honorees

Case All Stars

The 2022 Homecoming honorees will feature a Silver Bowl winner.

Ken Loparo, PhD ’77, is retiring this spring after 43 years on the Case faculty—and he will leave with lasting recognition. The Arthur L. Parker Professor is to receive the Silver Bowl, the highest honor bestowed by the Case Alumni Association.


Loparo, a long-time member of the board of directors of the CAA and a former board president, was chosen for the high honor by an awards committee lead by immediate past CAA President Sunniva Collins MS ’91, PhD ’94. The Silver Bowl, awarded occasionally, was last given in 2018 to former Dean Tom Kicher ‘59, MS ‘62, PhD ’65.


In addition to Loparo, the CAA will honor seven other distinguished alumni at Homecoming festivities this fall.


Chi-Foon Chan, MS ’74, PhD ’77, the president and co-Chief Executive Officer of Synopsys, is to receive the Gold Medal, the highest award bestowed annually by the CAA.


Jim Treleaven ’69, MS ’77, PhD ’90, the president and Chief Executive Officer of Via Strategy Group, will receive the Samuel Givelber ’23 Fellowship Award, which honors an alumnus who fosters fellowship in the Case tradition.


And Carlin Jackson ’15, MSM ’16, the founder and principal consultant for Theo. Wyes David, Ltd., will receive the Young Alumni Leadership Award.


Meeting in March, the awards committee decided to make a change in one important award category. The Meritorious Service Award will henceforth be known as the Thomas P. Kicher ’59, MS ’62, PhD ’65, Meritorious Service Award, in honor of Professor Kicher, who died in February after more than 60 years of service to Case.


Kicher Meritorious Service awards will go to:


Ka-Pi Hoh ’84, MS ’87, PhD ’89, the Organizational Change Manager at Lubrizol Corp. and an internationally recognized scientist who shares her time and insight with Case students.


Larry Enterline ’74, the Chairman of the Board of Directors of GreenTech Environmental and the former Chief Executive Officer of FOX Racing Shox, where many Case students found internships and careers.


Marla Perez Davis, PhD ’91, the director of the NASA Glenn Research Center and the first person of Puerto Rican descent to lead a NASA space center.


Carmen Fontana ’00, MSE ’05, the Director of Operations for Augment Therapy and a successful tech innovator who shares her expertise with Case students.


The awards program will take place live in Strosacker Auditorium Friday, October 7, 2022. Find details at



Related stories

Shaped by Case

To succeed in a new, dynamic field, Chi-Foon Chan needed a dynamic engineering school. He’ll be honored at Homecoming 2022 with the Gold Medal Award.

Read More »